How to make a herb garden on wheels from recycled pallets

herb

Source:byronobserver.com

My friend Robyn who lives in Byron Bay but has close ties to Moturiki Island, Fiji,  posted this great herb garden on wheels from recycled pallets.  Thanks Robyn!

Also, it appears that if you get your hands dirty, you feel happier – who knew!  But, I must admit whenever the stress of life gets to me I take refuge in the garden, and the reward is that I haven’t had to buy fruit or vegetables for months now and I haven’t even bought any seeds, I just throw the bags of waste from the market vendors on the ground and see what germinates.

boyle

We eat: corn, tomatoes, ochra, pumpkin, sweet potato leaf, pumpkin leaf, beans, long beans, chilli, paw paw, bele, roro (taro leaf), soursop, banana, cucumber, dahnia, bitter gourd, eggplant, dalo, cassava, and the list goes on!

Often people go hungry here, and the papers are full of what they call “Food Security” which means that they are trying to get to a point where all the food needed for Fiji can be grown or farmed in Fiji.  However, every weekend I go to the very small market in Nakasi, and I bring home a van full of bags of “waste” from the market. This waste is called “rubbish” but it is mostly good food, and what isn’t good for cooking, I use on the garden and the seeds grow!

Normally this waste is not even separated, but just sent to landfill with all the millions of plastic bottles, cans and other stuff that is still perceived as waste here.

To see step by step how to make the herb garden on wheels check out Robyn’s post at http://byronobserver.com/2013/11/26/getting-down-and-dirty/

It also reminded me of this photo I saw today.

 

3 thoughts on “How to make a herb garden on wheels from recycled pallets

  1. Alice! Check out what they have on fusing plastic bags on the internet. Pinterest I think was where I was at mostly. They take 8 layers of plastic grocery bags and heat them with an iron (between sheets of paper to keep the iron clean) to make a sewable and waterproof material. There was even mention of a fashion show in New York where all the clothing was made from recycled grocery bags! Although I don’t think wearing plastic clothing would work well in Fiji with the humidity, I am going to make a bed pad for my son since he still wets the bed at night sometimes. And I can see this fabric holding up that it could be sewn into a sleeping mat and stuffed with old t-shirts, other bags, even dried leaf material. You could make tarps, rain ponchos (they made waterproof footwear out of the material!-no idea how yet).

    Like

Your thoughts

